A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

TON

Wed, 9 Nov '22
Great deal
Fri, 21 Oct '22
Load
Sun, 18 Sep '22
Large number
Sun, 15 May '22
Bon ___ (fashionable world)
Tue, 15 Mar '22
Huge amount
Wed, 2 Feb '22
Boatload
Fri, 7 Jan '22
Bon ___ (high society: Fr.)
Tue, 7 Dec '21
Truck weigh station unit
Thu, 23 Sep '21
Whole lot
Sun, 27 Jun '21
Whole bunch
Sun, 28 Mar '21
"Unit" of fun
Sat, 20 Feb '21
Wealth
Mon, 25 Jan '21
Whole bunch
Thu, 7 Jan '21
Whole lot
Thu, 31 Dec '20
Shipload