A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

DREW

Tue, 25 Jul '23
Doodled, say
Mon, 24 Oct '22
Sketched
Fri, 19 Aug '22
Acted sketchy?
Mon, 30 May '22
Picked a card
Sun, 28 Nov '21
Started a turn, perhaps
Tue, 23 Nov '21
Picked a card
Sun, 14 Nov '21
Used colored pencils, say
Fri, 22 Oct '21
Participated in a pistol duel
Thu, 23 Sep '21
Didn't win or lose
Mon, 6 Sep '21
Did a sketch