A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

IDLE

Wed, 10 Nov '21
Wait for the light to change, say
Thu, 28 Oct '21
Not do anything
Fri, 24 Sep '21
Waiting for an assignment, maybe
Tue, 7 Sep '21
Just sitting around
Mon, 19 Jul '21
Keep an engine running without moving
Tue, 13 Jul '21
Like a team on a day off
Fri, 25 Jun '21
Like some threats
Wed, 26 May '21
Duty-free?
Wed, 12 May '21
Lollygag
Sun, 25 Apr '21
Just hanging out
Sat, 10 Apr '21
Like some threats