A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

RIB

Mon, 5 Sep '22
One of 24 in the human skeleton
Sun, 10 Jul '22
Tease
Thu, 9 Jun '22
Bone to pick at dinner, say
Sat, 21 May '22
Lightly roast
Tue, 22 Mar '22
___-eye steak
Sat, 5 Mar '22
Costa, to a botanist
Fri, 11 Feb '22
Piece of BBQ
Mon, 13 Dec '21
Poke fun at
Thu, 28 Oct '21
"Spare" item
Sat, 16 Jan '21
Strengthening crosspiece