A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

UPS

Sun, 19 May '24
DHL competitor
Wed, 8 May '24
FedEx rival
Sun, 27 Aug '23
Big ___ (props)
Tue, 18 Jul '23
___ and downs
Sun, 30 Apr '23
Shipping option
Fri, 21 Apr '23
Co. famous for its trucks
Thu, 17 Mar '22
Boom times
Mon, 17 Jan '22
___ and downs
Sun, 16 Jan '22
FedEx competitor
Sun, 19 Dec '21
Raises
Sat, 25 Sep '21
Boosts
Wed, 12 May '21
Emotional highs
Thu, 25 Mar '21
Happy states
Wed, 24 Mar '21
Big ___ (praise, slangily)
Thu, 18 Mar '21
___ and leaves