A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ISEE

Sat, 20 Nov '21
"Mmm hmm ..."
Sun, 26 Sep '21
[Nodding]
Tue, 7 Sep '21
"Ah, gotcha"
Fri, 23 Jul '21
Crystal gazer's lead-in
Tue, 13 Jul '21
"Mm-hmm, it's clear now"
Thu, 17 Jun '21
"Gotcha"
Fri, 14 May '21
"Got it"
Thu, 8 Apr '21
Verbal equivalent to a nod of the head
Wed, 7 Apr '21
"OK, that makes sense"
Mon, 1 Feb '21
"Understood"
Mon, 11 Jan '21
"Understood"