A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ISEE

Wed, 10 Apr '24
"Mm-hmm"
Mon, 26 Feb '24
"That makes sense!"
Tue, 19 Dec '23
"OK, got it"
Thu, 9 Nov '23
"Ah"
Thu, 2 Nov '23
"That clears it up"
Mon, 16 Oct '23
"Gotcha"
Mon, 2 Oct '23
"Got it"
Mon, 24 Jul '23
"Gotcha"
Sun, 12 Mar '23
"Gotcha"
Sat, 11 Feb '23
"Ah" follower
Wed, 8 Feb '23
"Gotcha"
Thu, 19 Jan '23
Palm reader's lead-in
Sat, 17 Dec '22
"Ah, yes, understood"
Sun, 28 Aug '22
"Oh, gotcha"
Sun, 14 Aug '22
Response from a therapist
Wed, 20 Jul '22
"Noted"
Mon, 13 Jun '22
"Ah, that makes sense now"
Mon, 18 Apr '22
"Gotcha"
Fri, 18 Mar '22
Clear indication?
Wed, 16 Feb '22
"Understood"
Thu, 3 Feb '22
"Hmm ..."
Thu, 27 Jan '22
"Hmm, OK"
Mon, 24 Jan '22
"Now it's clear"
Fri, 21 Jan '22
"All right, cool"
Mon, 27 Dec '21
"Ah, gotcha"
Thu, 9 Dec '21
"Mm-hmm ..."
Tue, 7 Dec '21
"Oh, OK"
Sat, 20 Nov '21
"Mmm hmm ..."
Sun, 26 Sep '21
[Nodding]
Tue, 7 Sep '21
"Ah, gotcha"
Fri, 23 Jul '21
Crystal gazer's lead-in
Tue, 13 Jul '21
"Mm-hmm, it's clear now"
Thu, 17 Jun '21
"Gotcha"
Fri, 14 May '21
"Got it"
Thu, 8 Apr '21
Verbal equivalent to a nod of the head
Wed, 7 Apr '21
"OK, that makes sense"
Mon, 1 Feb '21
"Understood"
Mon, 11 Jan '21
"Understood"