A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

AOL

Fri, 3 May '24
Half of an ill-fated 2001 merger
Thu, 18 Apr '24
Verizon sale of 2021
Fri, 29 Mar '24
I.M. innovator
Wed, 27 Mar '24
Pioneering I.S.P.
Sun, 28 Jan '24
Company originally known as Control Video Corp.
Sun, 5 Nov '23
Early ISP
Mon, 2 Oct '23
Yahoo alternative
Sat, 5 Aug '23
Early dial-up service provider
Mon, 12 Jun '23
Company that once mailed CDs containing free internet trials
Thu, 25 May '23
Gmail alternative
Tue, 25 Apr '23
"You've got mail" co.
Tue, 11 Apr '23
Old "You've got mail" sloganeer
Fri, 7 Apr '23
Co. once known as Quantum Computer Services
Mon, 12 Dec '22
"You've got mail!" I.S.P.
Wed, 7 Dec '22
Verizon sale of 2021
Mon, 21 Nov '22
N.Y.C.-based pioneer in instant messaging
Thu, 10 Nov '22
MSN competitor
Thu, 20 Oct '22
Internet service provider whose name is now stylized with a period
Sun, 16 Oct '22
"Have ___ make my email stop" (Destiny's Child lyric)
Sun, 29 May '22
I.S.P. alternative to 32-Down
Mon, 18 Apr '22
Legacy I.S.P.
Fri, 15 Apr '22
Pioneer in instant messaging
Mon, 11 Apr '22
"You've got mail" co.
Fri, 10 Dec '21
Company that helped launch TMZ
Tue, 30 Nov '21
Web portal owned by Verizon
Tue, 16 Nov '21
Former Time Warner partner
Mon, 15 Nov '21
Big inits. in 1990s internet
Sun, 17 Oct '21
Company with an iconic yellow Running Man logo
Thu, 28 Jan '21
Pioneering I.S.P.