A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

OPAL

Sun, 8 Jan '23
Milky gemstone
Mon, 28 Nov '22
Gem mined in Australia
Wed, 23 Nov '22
Gemstone that can come from petrified wood
Mon, 26 Sep '22
Birthstone for most Libras
Thu, 11 Aug '22
Pick for a pendant
Thu, 4 Aug '22
Stone with silica
Fri, 3 Jun '22
Olympic Australis is a noted one
Tue, 19 Apr '22
Milky gem
Thu, 10 Feb '22
Stone with "fire" and "water" varieties
Thu, 6 Jan '22
Birthstone after sapphire
Mon, 22 Nov '21
Iridescent gem
Tue, 19 Oct '21
October birthstone
Sun, 26 Sep '21
Tometi who co-founded Black Lives Matter
Wed, 8 Sep '21
___ glass (translucent ornamental material)
Wed, 28 Jul '21
Gem that's a woman's name
Sun, 23 May '21
Birthstone for Hillary Clinton, Kamala Harris and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez