A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ANI

Sun, 27 Nov '22
DiFranco of folk
Sun, 30 Oct '22
What a "Wheel of Fortune" contestant might buy when looking for _NSP_RAT_ON
Fri, 7 Oct '22
Nickname in "Star Wars"
Tue, 2 Aug '22
"Star Wars" nickname
Mon, 1 Aug '22
The difference between Mara and Maria?
Sun, 12 Jun '22
The last thing a Mississippi cheerleader wants?
Sat, 11 Jun '22
Black bird
Thu, 19 May '22
Alex and ___ (jewelry brand)
Sun, 24 Apr '22
What only one planet, Jupiter, is spelled with
Sun, 10 Apr '22
Nickname in "Star Wars"
Sun, 19 Dec '21
"Gimme ___!" (start of a cheer at three Big Ten schools)
Fri, 15 Oct '21
Darth Vader's childhood nickname
Sun, 26 Sep '21
Alex and ___ (jewelry chain)
Sun, 22 Aug '21
What makes Shrek shriek?
Fri, 6 Aug '21
Alex and ___ (jewelry chain)
Fri, 25 Jun '21
What "minuscule" is often misspelled with
Wed, 21 Apr '21
Singer/songwriter DiFranco
Sun, 28 Mar '21
Grammy winner DiFranco
Sat, 27 Mar '21
What the name Frances is often misspelled with
Fri, 26 Feb '21
What Friday has, unlike any other day of the week?
Sun, 14 Feb '21
Singer DiFranco