A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

LEI

Thu, 14 Oct '21
Scented souvenir
Sun, 10 Oct '21
Fragrant ring
Tue, 27 Jul '21
Hawaiian garland
Sat, 26 Jun '21
HI ring?
Thu, 27 May '21
___ Day (May 1, in Hawaii)
Wed, 26 May '21
Item sometimes made with pikake flowers
Tue, 18 May '21
Hawaiian garland
Mon, 10 May '21
Welcome gift upon arriving at Honolulu International Airport
Sun, 28 Feb '21
Graduation wear for a University of Hawaii student
Wed, 20 Jan '21
Hawaiian ring