A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

EARN

Mon, 12 Sep '22
Make, as money
Sun, 28 Aug '22
Warrant
Sun, 26 Jun '22
Make
Mon, 30 May '22
Bring in, as income
Fri, 4 Mar '22
Pull in
Tue, 21 Dec '21
Work hard for
Sun, 26 Sep '21
Pull in
Sun, 5 Sep '21
Pull down
Sun, 29 Aug '21
Take home
Sun, 18 Jul '21
Merit
Mon, 3 May '21
Make, as money
Fri, 9 Apr '21
Pull down
Wed, 17 Feb '21
Get paid