A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

IDEA

Fri, 19 Apr '24
Gist
Wed, 20 Mar '24
End of a noodle?
Wed, 6 Mar '24
Something to bat around
Sun, 3 Mar '24
Keep it in mind!
Mon, 5 Feb '24
Light bulb, in a comic strip
Wed, 3 Jan '24
"Light" of a light bulb moment
Sun, 17 Dec '23
Brainstorm
Wed, 6 Dec '23
"Here's an ___ …"
Thu, 9 Nov '23
"The very ___!"
Thu, 26 Oct '23
Inkling
Tue, 17 Oct '23
It's just a thought
Mon, 2 Oct '23
Bit of inspiration
Sun, 6 Aug '23
Light bulb, in comics
Mon, 17 Apr '23
Brainstorming product
Fri, 31 Mar '23
Something to think about
Wed, 15 Mar '23
Brainchild
Thu, 9 Mar '23
Brain spark
Wed, 1 Mar '23
It's just a thought
Mon, 16 Jan '23
Brainstorming product
Thu, 1 Dec '22
The wheel was a good one
Sun, 20 Nov '22
Nugget from a noggin
Fri, 21 Oct '22
Head light?
Wed, 12 Oct '22
"I have no ___"
Fri, 30 Sep '22
Brain wave
Thu, 29 Sep '22
Starting point for a plan
Sun, 25 Sep '22
"The very ___!"
Tue, 20 Sep '22
"The faintest" thing
Fri, 29 Jul '22
Impression
Sun, 12 Jun '22
Word implied in "I haven't the foggiest"
Thu, 2 Jun '22
"You have no ___"
Fri, 13 May '22
One may be floated or rough
Tue, 5 Apr '22
It's a thought
Mon, 14 Mar '22
Notion
Mon, 28 Feb '22
One may be half-baked or brilliant
Sun, 23 Jan '22
Creative springboard
Thu, 20 Jan '22
Spark of a sort
Tue, 18 Jan '22
"What's the big ___?"
Mon, 17 Jan '22
Bit of inspiration
Thu, 13 Jan '22
Thought
Wed, 12 Jan '22
Cause for an aha
Tue, 7 Dec '21
Starting place for an inventor
Mon, 6 Dec '21
Notion
Mon, 29 Nov '21
"What's the big ___?"
Fri, 26 Nov '21
See 60-Down
Thu, 14 Oct '21
Bit of creativity
Mon, 30 Aug '21
Something that might pop into your head
Thu, 29 Jul '21
Gist
Thu, 22 Jul '21
"Where'd you get that ___?"
Fri, 9 Jul '21
Piece of mind?
Tue, 1 Jun '21
It's a thought
Fri, 23 Apr '21
"The right" thing
Sun, 11 Apr '21
"The slightest" or "the foggiest" thing
Wed, 7 Apr '21
Mental spark
Wed, 10 Mar '21
It might occur to you
Sun, 3 Jan '21
"The very ___!"