A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

EKE

Sat, 21 May '22
Barely make do, with "by"
Fri, 6 May '22
Barely make, with "out"
Wed, 23 Feb '22
Scrape (out)
Sun, 9 Jan '22
___ out a victory
Sat, 4 Dec '21
Pull (out)
Mon, 18 Oct '21
___ out a living
Thu, 14 Oct '21
Just scrape (by)
Wed, 6 Oct '21
Scratch (out)
Tue, 3 Aug '21
Scrape (out)
Mon, 2 Aug '21
Just manage, with "by"
Thu, 29 Jul '21
Barely manage, with "out"
Fri, 2 Jul '21
Squeeze (out)
Wed, 28 Apr '21
Scratch (out)
Fri, 19 Mar '21
Squeeze (out)