A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

TAN

Fri, 5 Aug '22
"The Kitchen God's Wife" novelist, 1991
Tue, 17 May '22
Amy who wrote "The Joy Luck Club"
Fri, 6 May '22
Author of "The Kitchen God's Wife" (1991)
Thu, 3 Feb '22
Go for bronze?
Sat, 29 Jan '22
Shoe hue
Sun, 26 Sep '21
Sun-kissed, say
Tue, 14 Sep '21
Bygone M&M color
Sat, 3 Jul '21
Shaded from the sun
Wed, 31 Mar '21
Shade of brown
Mon, 8 Mar '21
Lie in the sun
Sun, 7 Mar '21
Brown shade
Tue, 2 Mar '21
Lion-colored
Thu, 4 Feb '21
Cousin of ocher
Tue, 2 Feb '21
Amy who wrote "The Joy Luck Club"
Sat, 2 Jan '21
Shade from the sun