A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ERR

Fri, 14 Jun '24
Prove one's humanity, in a way
Sun, 19 May '24
Do wrong
Sat, 27 Apr '24
"The cautious seldom ___" (quote attributed to Confucius)
Wed, 10 Apr '24
Mess up
Tue, 20 Feb '24
Make a mistake
Wed, 17 Jan '24
What you might do on the side of caution
Mon, 25 Dec '23
Slip up
Thu, 30 Nov '23
Stray
Sun, 26 Nov '23
Slip up
Tue, 7 Nov '23
Make a typo, say
Fri, 20 Oct '23
Slip
Tue, 22 Aug '23
Goof
Fri, 4 Aug '23
Slip
Mon, 17 Jul '23
Blunder
Thu, 6 Jul '23
Spell "mispell," e.g.
Tue, 23 May '23
Make a faux pas
Sat, 29 Apr '23
Speak too soon, say
Fri, 24 Mar '23
"The cautious seldom ___": Confucius
Tue, 7 Mar '23
Make mistakes
Tue, 28 Feb '23
Make a misstep
Mon, 30 Jan '23
Mis-enter a passcode, say
Mon, 23 Jan '23
Make a mistake
Sun, 1 Jan '23
Goof
Thu, 22 Dec '22
Go wrong
Wed, 23 Nov '22
Goof
Sun, 4 Sep '22
Say "Whomever did this …," say
Mon, 29 Aug '22
Blunder
Fri, 5 Aug '22
Goof
Wed, 1 Jun '22
Screw up
Sun, 8 May '22
Slip up
Fri, 29 Apr '22
Goof
Tue, 26 Apr '22
Slip up
Sun, 6 Mar '22
Blunder
Wed, 2 Mar '22
Display one's humanity, in a way
Wed, 23 Feb '22
Go astray
Sun, 20 Feb '22
Go the wrong way
Mon, 14 Feb '22
Goof up
Thu, 27 Jan '22
Drop the ball
Wed, 19 Jan '22
Mess up
Fri, 7 Jan '22
Drop the ball
Sun, 2 Jan '22
Go astray
Tue, 28 Dec '21
Slip up
Thu, 16 Dec '21
Transgress
Thu, 18 Nov '21
Slip
Sat, 13 Nov '21
Foul up
Tue, 9 Nov '21
Flub
Wed, 3 Nov '21
Goof
Tue, 26 Oct '21
Goof
Sun, 26 Sep '21
Mess up
Fri, 17 Sep '21
Confuse wasabi with guacamole, say
Sun, 25 Jul '21
Fumble
Sat, 12 Jun '21
Overthrow, e.g.
Sat, 29 May '21
Elicit an "Oops!," maybe
Mon, 24 May '21
Flub
Tue, 18 May '21
Blunder
Wed, 28 Apr '21
Goof
Mon, 5 Apr '21
Blunder
Sun, 7 Mar '21
Drop the ball
Sun, 21 Feb '21
Misidentify something, e.g.
Thu, 18 Feb '21
Miscalculate, say
Sat, 2 Jan '21
Show one's humanity, perhaps