A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

SAD

Tue, 29 Aug '23
In low spirits
Sun, 13 Aug '23
Down
Mon, 24 Jul '23
Down in the dumps
Sun, 23 Jul '23
Sorry
Mon, 8 May '23
Pathetic
Tue, 14 Mar '23
Down in the dumps
Thu, 26 Jan '23
Crestfallen
Tue, 3 Jan '23
Glum
Sun, 28 Aug '22
Crestfallen
Thu, 3 Feb '22
Hurl, say
Thu, 13 Jan '22
Word before case or sack
Sun, 12 Dec '21
Blue
Mon, 8 Feb '21
Unhappy
Tue, 26 Jan '21
Dejected