A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

EAST

Mon, 27 Jun '22
Toward the dawn
Sat, 4 Jun '22
Right this way?
Thu, 12 May '22
90°
Mon, 28 Mar '22
Direction of the morning light
Tue, 25 Jan '22
One wicked witch's home in "The Wizard of Oz"
Mon, 27 Dec '21
Down ___ (Maine)
Wed, 8 Dec '21
It's right on the map
Sun, 24 Oct '21
___ New York (Brooklyn neighborhood)
Sun, 26 Sep '21
With 27-Down, island nation near Indonesia
Wed, 15 Sep '21
Steinbeck's "___ of Eden"
Wed, 2 Jun '21
Jet stream direction
Mon, 24 May '21
___ Asia (China, Japan and environs)
Sun, 28 Feb '21
Polo course?
Sat, 2 Jan '21
Three o'clock, so to speak