A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ERE

Wed, 15 May '24
Before, in verse
Sun, 21 Apr '24
Afore
Sun, 14 Apr '24
Before, to Shakespeare
Wed, 21 Feb '24
Prior to, poetically
Tue, 13 Feb '24
"Before" of yore
Sun, 21 Jan '24
Poetic preposition
Mon, 15 Jan '24
Before, in poetry
Mon, 18 Dec '23
Before, in poetry
Sun, 17 Dec '23
Previously, in poetry
Wed, 6 Dec '23
Hardy's "before"
Thu, 19 Oct '23
How English poets wrote previously?
Sun, 27 Aug '23
Before, once
Fri, 25 Aug '23
Palindromic adverb
Tue, 18 Jul '23
Before, poetically
Sun, 16 Jul '23
Afore
Sun, 4 Jun '23
Before, once
Sat, 3 Jun '23
Preceder to long or now
Sun, 21 May '23
Before, poetically
Tue, 2 May '23
Poetry palindrome
Sun, 30 Apr '23
Before, in poetry
Mon, 24 Apr '23
Palindromic preposition in poems
Tue, 18 Apr '23
Before, in poetry
Sun, 9 Apr '23
Poetic palindrome
Sat, 8 Apr '23
"I will find you twenty lascivious turtles ___ one chaste man": Shak.
Tue, 4 Apr '23
Before, to a bard
Fri, 31 Mar '23
"That will be ___ the set of sun": Shak.
Sun, 26 Mar '23
Before, in poetry
Tue, 21 Mar '23
Palindromic poetic preposition
Sun, 5 Mar '23
'Fore
Sun, 5 Feb '23
Previously, poetically
Thu, 26 Jan '23
Palindromic word in classic poetry
Wed, 25 Jan '23
Before, in poetry
Sat, 14 Jan '23
Poetic palindrome
Sat, 31 Dec '22
Afore
Wed, 19 Oct '22
Before, to Byron
Sun, 16 Oct '22
Afore
Wed, 12 Oct '22
Before, poetically
Wed, 7 Sep '22
Before, poetically
Thu, 21 Jul '22
Poetic conjunction
Wed, 6 Jul '22
Poetic preposition
Thu, 30 Jun '22
Poet's palindromic preposition
Tue, 28 Jun '22
"Take heed, ___ summer comes, or cuckoo-birds do sing": "The Merry Wives of Windsor"
Fri, 29 Apr '22
"___ sleep comes down to soothe the weary eyes": Paul Laurence Dunbar
Sat, 23 Apr '22
Palindromic preposition
Thu, 21 Apr '22
Bard's "before"
Tue, 22 Mar '22
Before, poetically
Sun, 27 Feb '22
Quaint lead-in to while
Sat, 26 Feb '22
"... ___ I again behold my Romeo!": Juliet
Thu, 17 Feb '22
Before, in verse
Wed, 16 Feb '22
Before, to Shakespeare
Mon, 7 Feb '22
Poet's "before"
Wed, 26 Jan '22
Lead-in to "long"
Mon, 6 Dec '21
"... ___ he drove out of sight ..."
Sun, 5 Dec '21
Before, poetically
Sun, 28 Nov '21
Before, once
Tue, 23 Nov '21
"Able was I ___ ..."
Sun, 21 Nov '21
Before, in poetry
Sat, 20 Nov '21
Word before now
Wed, 17 Nov '21
Before, in poetry
Mon, 1 Nov '21
"Able was I ___ I saw Elba"
Thu, 14 Oct '21
Old-fashioned preposition
Thu, 2 Sep '21
Lead-in to long
Sat, 14 Aug '21
Lead-in to now
Fri, 23 Jul '21
"I shall see thee, ___ I die, look pale with love": "Much Ado About Nothing"
Thu, 22 Jul '21
"I kissed thee ___ I kill'd thee": "Othello"
Wed, 23 Jun '21
'Fore
Mon, 22 Mar '21
Preceding, poetically
Mon, 15 Mar '21
Poet's "before"
Mon, 8 Mar '21
Before, poetically
Tue, 2 Mar '21
Before, to poets
Tue, 23 Feb '21
Before, in poetry
Sat, 13 Feb '21
"Why, every fault's condemn'd ___ it be done": "Measure for Measure"
Tue, 12 Jan '21
"Able was I ___ I saw Elba"