A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ALF

Wed, 27 Mar '24
ET who once appeared on "Entertainment Tonight"
Sat, 14 Oct '23
1980s sitcom puppet
Tue, 11 Jul '23
Sitcom character from the planet Melmac
Mon, 12 Jun '23
1980s TV extraterrestrial
Sun, 4 Jun '23
Title TV character whose name is an acronym
Wed, 15 Mar '23
Landon who lost in a landslide to F.D.R.
Tue, 15 Nov '22
1980s sitcom E.T.
Wed, 19 Oct '22
TV E.T.
Tue, 7 Jun '22
Sitcom ET from the planet Melmac
Wed, 12 Jan '22
TV E.T.
Thu, 18 Nov '21
Title character of an '80s sitcom
Sun, 21 Feb '21
Sitcom extraterrestrial