A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

SEED

Fri, 7 Jun '24
The world's largest one, produced by the coco de mer, weighs up to 55 pounds
Thu, 16 May '24
Unwelcome surprise in a glass of fresh-squeezed juice
Wed, 13 Mar '24
What the stone is in a stone fruit
Wed, 14 Feb '24
Pit, e.g.
Sun, 19 Nov '23
Tournament ranking
Wed, 15 Nov '23
Tournament placement
Wed, 18 Oct '23
Unit of doubt, so to speak
Sun, 24 Sep '23
Starting point
Sun, 3 Sep '23
Pip or pit
Sun, 2 Jul '23
Future flower
Sat, 8 Apr '23
Number in brackets
Wed, 22 Mar '23
March Madness number
Sun, 18 Dec '22
Number in a tournament
Tue, 29 Nov '22
Finch feeder filler
Sun, 13 Feb '22
Starting point
Wed, 12 Jan '22
March Madness datum
Fri, 3 Dec '21
___ money
Sun, 28 Nov '21
Source
Tue, 28 Sep '21
Germ
Fri, 24 Sep '21
Pip
Fri, 6 Aug '21
___ money
Thu, 1 Jul '21
Genesis
Sun, 2 May '21
Avocado pit, for one
Fri, 15 Jan '21
Number shown in brackets?