A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

INSET

Tue, 13 Feb '24
Map detail
Mon, 29 Jan '24
Map enlargement
Sat, 30 Sep '23
Map of Hawaii, often
Sat, 2 Sep '23
Like Staten Island on a New York City subway map
Mon, 8 May '23
Map box
Fri, 6 Jan '23
Like Alaska on a U.S. map, often
Wed, 16 Nov '22
Small box on a map
Thu, 11 Aug '22
Map detail
Tue, 5 Apr '22
Piece of material used to strengthen a garment
Sun, 26 Dec '21
Place, as ceramic tiles
Tue, 9 Nov '21
Zoomed-in map
Thu, 25 Feb '21
Map feature