A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ALIEN

Sun, 14 Jan '24
One hitting the space bar?
Wed, 22 Nov '23
Xenomorph
Tue, 3 Oct '23
Like 48-Downs, to Ireland
Fri, 21 Jul '23
Zaphod Beeblebrox in "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy," for one
Mon, 27 Mar '23
One might arrive on a saucer
Thu, 23 Feb '23
Beyond strange
Sat, 12 Nov '22
Supergirl, e.g.
Fri, 29 Jul '22
Xenomorph, more familiarly
Mon, 28 Feb '22
Not from Earth
Fri, 21 Jan '22
Video game franchise based on a sci-fi film franchise
Wed, 29 Sep '21
Otherworldly
Tue, 27 Jul '21
One from another world
Sun, 23 May '21
Hit film set aboard the spaceship Nostromo
Tue, 23 Mar '21
Who might say "Take me to your leader"