A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

PAS

Sun, 19 May '24
Over which announcements about pep rallies might be heard, for short
Wed, 15 May '24
Ballet step
Sat, 30 Dec '23
Speakers in many classrooms, for short
Sun, 3 Sep '23
Class speakers, for short
Wed, 14 Jun '23
Not, in France
Tue, 16 May '23
Dads
Mon, 24 Apr '23
Faux ___
Sun, 25 Dec '22
Some speaker systems, in brief
Sun, 22 May '22
___ de deux (ballet dance)
Sun, 6 Feb '22
Not for moi?
Wed, 3 Mar '21
Faux ___