A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

EGG

Sat, 20 Aug '22
Default avatar on Twitter, once
Fri, 12 Aug '22
___ salad
Mon, 18 Jul '22
Shape of an intellectual's head, it's said
Wed, 30 Mar '22
Beat it!
Wed, 16 Mar '22
Something a duck lays
Thu, 10 Mar '22
Prankster's projectile
Wed, 23 Feb '22
To use this you'll need to get cracking
Sun, 20 Feb '22
Early bird?
Sun, 30 Jan '22
One being coddled, maybe
Tue, 25 Jan '22
The hundred folds on a chef's toque are said to represent the number of ways to prepare this
Mon, 15 Nov '21
Which came first ... this or the chicken?
Tue, 2 Nov '21
Spur (on)
Wed, 29 Sep '21
Reproductive unit in biology
Mon, 13 Sep '21
Sunny-side-up item
Wed, 1 Sep '21
Main ingredient in the Japanese dish tamagoyaki
Mon, 16 Aug '21
Nog ingredient
Sun, 18 Jul '21
Something that's gone bad if it floats when placed in a bowl of water
Wed, 20 Jan '21
One might be deviled