A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

MAR

Sat, 10 Sep '22
Calendar abbr.
Thu, 25 Aug '22
Scratch
Tue, 9 Aug '22
Blemish
Fri, 22 Jul '22
Chip, e.g.
Thu, 30 Jun '22
French
Mon, 20 Jun '22
Make a scratch or dent in
Sun, 1 May '22
Calendar mo.
Wed, 9 Mar '22
Spoil
Mon, 7 Feb '22
Damage
Wed, 29 Sep '21
Vandalize, e.g.
Fri, 24 Sep '21
58 ___ MediterrĂ¡neo
Sun, 18 Apr '21
Scratch the surface of
Fri, 19 Mar '21
Nick, say
Sun, 24 Jan '21
Tarnish