A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ASS

Sat, 4 May '24
Something to kick
Mon, 4 Mar '24
Kick-___ (awesome)
Sat, 2 Mar '24
Schmuck
Tue, 13 Feb '24
Donkey
Sat, 13 Jan '24
Something you might kick
Tue, 9 Jan '24
Word after kick or bad
Fri, 22 Dec '23
Emphatic suffix
Sun, 17 Dec '23
Dum-dum
Sat, 16 Dec '23
Bottom
Wed, 6 Dec '23
Heehawing animal
Fri, 17 Nov '23
Saddlebag carrier
Thu, 16 Nov '23
Jerk
Sun, 5 Nov '23
Buffoon
Fri, 20 Oct '23
Jerk
Wed, 23 Aug '23
"Why, what an ___ am I!": Hamlet
Mon, 24 Jul '23
Doofus
Sun, 23 Jul '23
Real so-and-so
Thu, 20 Jul '23
Knucklehead
Fri, 2 Jun '23
Doofus
Sun, 14 May '23
Backside
Mon, 20 Mar '23
Stubborn animal
Tue, 14 Mar '23
Nincompoop
Sun, 5 Mar '23
Wild donkey
Mon, 27 Feb '23
Donkey
Mon, 20 Feb '23
Stubborn animal
Thu, 5 Jan '23
Biblical mount
Mon, 2 Jan '23
___-backwards (utterly wrong, in slang)
Thu, 8 Dec '22
Dunderhead
Mon, 5 Dec '22
Beast of burden
Sun, 23 Oct '22
Dunderhead
Sat, 22 Oct '22
Behind
Mon, 26 Sep '22
Stubborn animal
Sat, 10 Sep '22
Something you might haul
Wed, 17 Aug '22
Buffoon
Tue, 2 Aug '22
Nincompoop
Sat, 30 Jul '22
Word added as an intensifier
Sun, 24 Jul '22
Word with half or hard
Sat, 23 Jul '22
Doofus
Mon, 18 Jul '22
Wild donkey
Sun, 26 Jun '22
Follower of smart or wise
Wed, 1 Jun '22
Jerk
Fri, 8 Apr '22
Jenny, for one
Thu, 7 Apr '22
Word with bad or smart
Tue, 29 Mar '22
Ninny
Sat, 26 Mar '22
Something of your neighbor's not to covet, per the Ten Commandments
Thu, 17 Feb '22
Ding-dong
Thu, 10 Feb '22
Word after bad or hard
Mon, 10 Jan '22
Nincompoop
Sun, 21 Nov '21
Jerkwad
Thu, 18 Nov '21
Total jerk
Wed, 29 Sep '21
Big jerk
Tue, 10 Aug '21
Dummkopf
Sun, 25 Jul '21
Chump
Sun, 27 Jun '21
Bozo
Wed, 16 Jun '21
Follower of smart or bad
Sat, 22 May '21
One often sent packing?
Thu, 20 May '21
Dunderhead
Tue, 18 May '21
Braying animal
Wed, 28 Apr '21
___-backwards
Sat, 13 Mar '21
Contemptible sort
Mon, 1 Mar '21
Nincompoop