A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

STAB

Thu, 11 Apr '24
Something to take when you're in the dark
Tue, 9 Apr '24
Wild guess
Thu, 18 Jan '24
Take a ___
Mon, 25 Dec '23
Wild guess
Sun, 24 Dec '23
Guesstimate
Sat, 18 Nov '23
Try
Tue, 7 Nov '23
Wild guess
Fri, 3 Nov '23
Skewer
Sun, 3 Sep '23
Wild guess
Wed, 26 Jul '23
Wild guess
Mon, 1 May '23
Shot in the dark
Fri, 21 Apr '23
Attempt
Sun, 12 Feb '23
Attempt
Thu, 12 Jan '23
Guess
Sun, 28 Aug '22
Wild guess
Sun, 22 May '22
Sudden feeling, as of remorse
Fri, 29 Apr '22
Try
Sun, 13 Mar '22
Sudden sharp pain
Tue, 21 Dec '21
Attempt, metaphorically
Mon, 6 Dec '21
Wild guess
Wed, 29 Sep '21
Wild guess
Tue, 17 Aug '21
Wild guess
Tue, 10 Aug '21
Wild guess
Wed, 21 Jul '21
Wild guess
Thu, 1 Jul '21
Random guess
Mon, 19 Apr '21
Wild guess
Sat, 6 Mar '21
Crack, so to speak
Wed, 27 Jan '21
Attempt
Mon, 25 Jan '21
Wild guess