A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

FAR

Sat, 10 Feb '24
Way out
Sun, 14 Jan '24
"___ out!"
Fri, 18 Aug '23
A ways
Wed, 29 Mar '23
More than a stone's throw away
Fri, 11 Nov '22
A ways away
Sun, 23 Oct '22
Adverb repeated in the "Star Wars" prologue
Tue, 11 Oct '22
A ways away
Sat, 23 Apr '22
Much
Sun, 2 Jan '22
A ways
Mon, 13 Dec '21
A long way away
Mon, 29 Nov '21
Distant
Sun, 28 Nov '21
Not even close
Wed, 10 Mar '21
Partner of away
Fri, 19 Feb '21
Way out