A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ACE

Tue, 9 Jul '24
Base card in solitaire
Mon, 17 Jun '24
Card up one's sleeve, perhaps
Sun, 26 May '24
Point of no return?
Tue, 14 May '24
Star pitcher
Sun, 14 Apr '24
One on the links?
Sun, 18 Feb '24
Delivery that can't be returned
Sun, 21 Jan '24
Whiz
Sun, 7 Jan '24
Hotshot
Sat, 6 Jan '24
It's a big deal
Sun, 17 Dec '23
Biggest club in Vegas?
Mon, 20 Nov '23
The "A" of 10-J-Q-K-A
Thu, 24 Aug '23
Very quick point
Thu, 10 Aug '23
Flying ___
Thu, 3 Aug '23
Whip through, say
Mon, 24 Jul '23
Card with a single spot on it
Fri, 21 Jul '23
Example of exemplary service
Tue, 11 Jul '23
Maven
Sun, 18 Jun '23
Big diamond?
Fri, 9 Jun '23
Top club in Vegas
Sun, 7 May '23
One-pip card
Wed, 5 Apr '23
Crackerjack
Sun, 19 Mar '23
One in the hand?
Mon, 27 Feb '23
Top card
Thu, 9 Feb '23
No soft serve
Wed, 1 Feb '23
One of a pair of "bullets," in poker
Sun, 22 Jan '23
Nail, as a test
Wed, 7 Dec '22
Big name in hardware stores
Sun, 23 Oct '22
Whiz
Sun, 9 Oct '22
Either half of pocket rockets, in poker slang
Tue, 20 Sep '22
Part of 10-J-Q-K-A
Sun, 31 Jul '22
Wizard
Tue, 26 Jul '22
Virtuoso
Sun, 24 Jul '22
Whiz
Thu, 21 Jul '22
Top of a deck
Thu, 14 Jul '22
Valuable diamond
Sun, 10 Jul '22
Excellent service?
Sat, 2 Jul '22
Game 1 starter, typically
Mon, 6 Jun '22
"A" card in the deck
Sun, 15 May '22
High part of a deck
Sun, 1 May '22
Flexible spade, say
Mon, 4 Apr '22
Total pro
Sat, 26 Feb '22
Wunderkind
Fri, 21 Jan '22
Person of extraordinary skill
Sun, 16 Jan '22
Big club in Las Vegas?
Fri, 3 Dec '21
Pro
Mon, 8 Nov '21
Blackjack card with two values
Mon, 1 Nov '21
Score 100% on
Sun, 31 Oct '21
Card in a royal flush
Thu, 28 Oct '21
Virtuoso
Wed, 27 Oct '21
King or queen topper
Sun, 24 Oct '21
Crush, as a test
Thu, 30 Sep '21
It's often included in a good deal
Tue, 7 Sep '21
Versatile blackjack card
Thu, 2 Sep '21
Expert
Mon, 30 Aug '21
The "A" of A-K-Q-J
Tue, 10 Aug '21
Perfect serve
Mon, 9 Aug '21
Flexible blackjack card
Wed, 4 Aug '21
Tennis feat
Sat, 12 Jun '21
Asexual, informally
Mon, 31 May '21
There's only one spot for this
Sun, 30 May '21
Put one past
Wed, 28 Apr '21
Crackerjack
Sat, 17 Apr '21
Crackerjack
Sun, 4 Apr '21
Outstanding pitcher
Sat, 3 Apr '21
Wizard
Wed, 31 Mar '21
Virtuoso
Thu, 4 Mar '21
Nail
Sat, 20 Feb '21
Excellent
Wed, 3 Feb '21
Nail, as a test
Thu, 21 Jan '21
Crush, as a test
Thu, 14 Jan '21
Whiz
Wed, 30 Dec '20
Alternative to Lowe's
Sun, 27 Dec '20
A thing in poker?