A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

NHL

Sat, 13 Apr '24
They don't care for icing, for short
Mon, 25 Sep '23
Stanley Cup org.
Sat, 5 Aug '23
Senators' org.
Tue, 21 Mar '23
Org. that uses Zambonis
Mon, 20 Feb '23
Rink org.
Sun, 15 Jan '23
Wild group, for short
Mon, 12 Dec '22
Org. for Penguins and Ducks
Tue, 8 Nov '22
Hart Memorial Trophy awarder, in brief
Wed, 4 May '22
Islanders' grp.
Wed, 30 Mar '22
Org. for Ducks and Penguins
Sun, 13 Mar '22
Blues group, for short?
Mon, 7 Mar '22
Sports org. for Rangers and Red Wings
Mon, 17 Jan '22
Org. for the Flyers and Red Wings
Fri, 26 Nov '21
Senators' org.
Wed, 17 Mar '21
Ranger's home, in brief