A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ABE

Sun, 27 Mar '22
Former Japanese P.M. Shinzo ___
Sun, 20 Mar '22
Face on a penny, familiarly
Fri, 11 Mar '22
"The Simpsons" grandfather
Wed, 29 Dec '21
First prez to have a 60-Across
Thu, 16 Dec '21
Figure on a fiver
Thu, 2 Dec '21
Presidential nickname
Sun, 17 Oct '21
Japanese prime minister before Suga
Thu, 30 Sep '21
Former N.Y.C. mayor Beame
Thu, 11 Mar '21
Fin
Thu, 4 Mar '21
Tony Shalhoub's character on "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel"
Fri, 19 Feb '21
Bill that's half a 52-Across, informally
Sun, 24 Jan '21
Longtime Japanese P.M. who stepped down in 2020
Thu, 21 Jan '21
Father on "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel"
Wed, 6 Jan '21
Former Japanese P.M. Shinzo ___