A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

STAT

Mon, 22 Nov '21
"Now!" in the operating room
Sat, 13 Nov '21
"Don't wait!"
Thu, 28 Oct '21
Tackles, say
Thu, 21 Oct '21
No. on the back of a baseball card
Fri, 1 Oct '21
"Now!"
Tue, 21 Sep '21
"Immediately!"
Fri, 27 Aug '21
Turnovers, e.g.
Sat, 24 Jul '21
Average, maybe
Tue, 25 May '21
E.R.A. or R.B.I.
Sat, 15 May '21
Runs or walks
Mon, 8 Mar '21
"A.S.A.P.!"