A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

STIR

Wed, 26 Oct '22
Begin to wake
Mon, 8 Aug '22
Disobey James Bond when making a martini
Thu, 5 May '22
Turn on the stove?
Wed, 6 Apr '22
Move about
Mon, 7 Feb '22
Blend, as batter
Thu, 20 Jan '22
Minor uproar
Sun, 16 Jan '22
Instruction in an oatmeal recipe
Mon, 3 Jan '22
Commotion
Sun, 2 Jan '22
Keep from sticking, say
Mon, 27 Dec '21
Use a swizzle stick
Mon, 1 Nov '21
Direction after adding sugar
Thu, 28 Oct '21
Commotion
Thu, 21 Oct '21
Instruction in risotto recipes
Mon, 18 Oct '21
Mix with a spoon
Sat, 16 Oct '21
Big to-do
Fri, 1 Oct '21
Not remain completely asleep
Sat, 10 Jul '21
Brouhaha
Fri, 4 Jun '21
Hubbub
Thu, 25 Mar '21
Brouhaha
Sat, 20 Mar '21
Brouhaha
Sun, 14 Mar '21
Swizzle
Wed, 10 Feb '21
Tend to the sauce, say