A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ONCE

Sun, 4 Dec '22
In times past
Sat, 26 Nov '22
Formerly
Thu, 17 Nov '22
Years ago
Thu, 3 Nov '22
Some time ago
Thu, 27 Oct '22
Start of a reminiscence
Sun, 23 Oct '22
Last "O" in YOLO
Fri, 19 Aug '22
Part of YOLO
Thu, 21 Jul '22
Start of a reminiscence
Wed, 15 Jun '22
Back in the day
Sun, 22 May '22
Never again
Thu, 5 May '22
First word of Poe's "The Raven"
Thu, 23 Dec '21
"Kiss her ___ for me" ("A Holly Jolly Christmas" lyric)
Fri, 1 Oct '21
Years back
Fri, 24 Sep '21
___-over
Sun, 15 Aug '21
In the past
Thu, 24 Jun '21
Historically
Tue, 1 Jun '21
Second word in many limericks
Mon, 31 May '21
How many times the Washington Nationals have won the World Series
Thu, 1 Apr '21
How many times TV's Perry Mason lost a case
Tue, 9 Mar '21
___ and for all
Tue, 29 Dec '20
In years past