A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

INANE

Thu, 9 May '24
Dumb
Fri, 5 Apr '24
Pointless
Sat, 10 Feb '24
Just plain silly
Mon, 21 Aug '23
Silly
Fri, 18 Aug '23
Fatuous
Mon, 24 Jul '23
Laughably stupid
Thu, 22 Jun '23
Idiotic
Fri, 31 Mar '23
Laughable
Tue, 11 Oct '22
Foolish
Tue, 23 Aug '22
Silly
Tue, 22 Feb '22
Like much Three Stooges humor
Sun, 12 Dec '21
Nonsensical
Tue, 23 Nov '21
Silly
Mon, 22 Mar '21
Imbecilic
Sun, 14 Mar '21
Like slapstick comedies
Sun, 21 Feb '21
Ridiculous
Sun, 3 Jan '21
Cockamamie