A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

LOP

Fri, 19 Apr '24
Hack (off)
Mon, 12 Feb '24
Chop (off)
Thu, 26 Oct '23
Slice (off)
Thu, 10 Aug '23
Hack (off)
Tue, 6 Jun '23
Hack (off)
Fri, 21 Apr '23
Cut (off)
Wed, 19 Oct '22
Hack (off)
Sun, 28 Aug '22
Cut (off)
Wed, 13 Apr '22
Apt rhyme for chop and crop
Wed, 29 Dec '21
___-eared
Thu, 25 Nov '21
Hack
Mon, 5 Apr '21
Hack (off)
Wed, 3 Feb '21
Chop or crop