A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

URAL

Sat, 28 Jan '23
Orenburg's river
Wed, 23 Nov '22
___ Mountains, formation made by the collision of the continents Laurasia and Kazakhstania
Thu, 6 Oct '22
Europe's third-longest river
Tue, 9 Aug '22
Russia's ___ Mountains
Sun, 20 Feb '22
Neighbor of Siberia, in Risk
Mon, 17 Jan '22
Russian river
Fri, 7 Jan '22
___ Mountains, range crossed on the Trans-Siberian railway
Tue, 21 Dec '21
Russia's ___ Mountains
Sat, 13 Nov '21
River that's a letter off from 20-Across
Wed, 7 Apr '21
___ Mountains, dividers of Europe and Asia
Tue, 5 Jan '21
Name of a mountain range or a river