A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

EEL

Thu, 25 Nov '21
Caterpillar roll ingredient
Tue, 16 Nov '21
Prey for a barracuda
Tue, 9 Nov '21
Fish that may have only vestigial fins
Sun, 3 Oct '21
Electric ___
Thu, 23 Sep '21
A pelican gulper is a type of one
Fri, 10 Sep '21
Anago, on a Japanese menu
Tue, 17 Aug '21
Fish that's poisonous unless cooked
Mon, 16 Aug '21
Conger, for one
Mon, 9 Aug '21
Sinuous swimmer
Thu, 5 Aug '21
Sushi bar choice
Sun, 11 Jul '21
Unagi, at a sushi bar
Tue, 6 Jul '21
Sinuous fish
Sun, 13 Jun '21
Serpentine swimmer
Wed, 5 May '21
Fish with tiny scales
Sun, 25 Apr '21
Shocker, at times
Tue, 20 Apr '21
Conger, e.g.
Sun, 14 Mar '21
Jellied British delicacy
Mon, 25 Jan '21
Wriggly fish