A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

AHAB

Thu, 2 Nov '23
Literary character who cries "Talk not to me of blasphemy, man; I'd strike the sun if it insulted me"
Thu, 26 Oct '23
Character who nails a doubloon to the Pequod's mast
Sat, 14 Oct '23
Fictional character who cries "I am madness maddened!"
Tue, 4 Jul '23
"Moby-Dick" captain
Thu, 22 Jun '23
Noted whale watcher
Sun, 5 Mar '23
Literary character who cries "I am madness maddened!"
Fri, 17 Feb '23
Fictional figure who often visits the "night-cloaked deck"
Tue, 18 Oct '22
Captain in a whale of a tale?
Tue, 19 Jul '22
Monomaniacal captain of fiction
Fri, 11 Mar '22
"Grand, ungodly, god-like" man of fiction
Sun, 16 Jan '22
He gave Starbuck's orders
Thu, 30 Dec '21
Captain who cries "From hell's heart I stab at thee"
Wed, 1 Dec '21
Obsessed captain
Mon, 12 Apr '21
"Moby-Dick" captain
Mon, 1 Feb '21
"Moby-Dick" captain