A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ETS

Fri, 10 May '24
Travelers from far away, for short
Sun, 5 May '24
The Monstars in "Space Jam," e.g., for short
Mon, 5 Feb '24
U.F.O. crew, supposedly
Sun, 4 Feb '24
Otherworldly creatures, for short
Tue, 23 Jan '24
Flying saucer crew, for short
Sun, 3 Dec '23
Otherworldly sorts, for short
Wed, 5 Jul '23
They're not from around here, in brief
Sat, 24 Jun '23
"Arrival" arrivals, for short
Thu, 8 Jun '23
Agent Mulder's obsession, in brief
Mon, 29 May '23
U.F.O. pilots
Sat, 27 May '23
Subjects of some conspiracy theories, in brief
Mon, 15 May '23
U.F.O. pilots
Sat, 13 May '23
Baddies on TNT's "Falling Skies," for short
Mon, 13 Mar '23
Ewoks or Klingons, in brief
Mon, 20 Feb '23
U.F.O. pilots, for short
Thu, 26 Jan '23
Fabled visitors to 49-Down, in brief
Wed, 11 Jan '23
Beings not (yet) proven to exist
Sun, 1 Jan '23
Visitors from afar, in brief
Sat, 31 Dec '22
35-Across and others, in brief
Thu, 22 Dec '22
"We come in peace" speakers, in brief
Wed, 7 Dec '22
H.S. exam org.
Fri, 18 Nov '22
They left behind one of their own in a 1982 film
Thu, 22 Sep '22
Figures on "The X-Files," in brief
Tue, 20 Sep '22
U.F.O. pilots
Mon, 19 Sep '22
Aliens, in brief
Mon, 5 Sep '22
U.F.O. pilots, some believe
Wed, 17 Aug '22
"Star Wars" cantina patrons, for short
Thu, 11 Aug '22
Hypothetical entities, for short
Tue, 28 Jun '22
Travelers from afar, for short
Thu, 23 Jun '22
Mars rovers, in brief?
Sat, 28 May '22
Saucer contents, for short
Mon, 21 Mar '22
Flying saucer fliers, in brief
Sun, 20 Mar '22
Superman and others, for short
Thu, 17 Feb '22
Supposed creators of crop circles, for short
Tue, 18 Jan '22
Org. that creates the G.R.E.
Tue, 21 Dec '21
U.F.O. pilots
Thu, 16 Dec '21
French connections
Sat, 4 Dec '21
Big inits. in admissions
Sun, 21 Nov '21
Some dolls sold in a Universal Studios gift shop
Fri, 22 Oct '21
"Men in Black" antagonists
Sun, 3 Oct '21
Sci-fi travelers
Fri, 18 Jun '21
Org. that administers the G.R.E.
Thu, 20 May '21
Uranians, e.g.
Mon, 22 Mar '21
Those who are not among us (or are they?)
Thu, 14 Jan '21
Subjects of some conspiracy theories, for short
Sat, 9 Jan '21
Travelers from a faraway place, for short