A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

APR

Thu, 28 Jul '22
Loan letters
Sun, 26 Jun '22
4/
Mon, 30 May '22
Mo. before May
Sun, 15 May '22
Fools are often seen at its start: Abbr.
Mon, 31 Jan '22
Figure that a bank charges for a loan, for short
Tue, 20 Apr '21
Earth Day's mo.
Mon, 29 Mar '21
Mo. with many (not so) happy returns?
Tue, 9 Mar '21
Mo. with Earth Day
Sun, 7 Mar '21
Busy mo. for C.P.A.s
Wed, 30 Dec '20
Borrower's fig.