A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

TRY

Sun, 22 May '22
Take a shot at
Sat, 21 May '22
"___ me!"
Sun, 10 Apr '22
Shot, so to speak
Sun, 3 Apr '22
Don't give up
Tue, 1 Mar '22
Attempt
Tue, 26 Oct '21
Urging for a reluctant person
Sun, 3 Oct '21
Endeavor
Sat, 21 Aug '21
Rugby equivalent of a touchdown
Sat, 10 Jul '21
Tax
Thu, 25 Mar '21
Five-point rugby play
Sun, 14 Mar '21
Word repeated before "again"
Thu, 25 Feb '21
"___ this!"
Tue, 12 Jan '21
Take a stab