A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ONE

Sun, 28 Nov '21
Only's partner
Sat, 13 Nov '21
With 39-Down, "Wait!"
Tue, 9 Nov '21
Word after square or plus
Wed, 27 Oct '21
What the tangent of 45° is equal to
Sun, 17 Oct '21
With 83-Down, puzzle solver's starting point
Mon, 4 Oct '21
"We're number ___!"
Sun, 5 Sep '21
With 124-Down, feature of van Gogh
Thu, 2 Sep '21
It appears twice in the Fibonacci sequence
Sun, 29 Aug '21
It's represented by a dot in the top-left corner, in Braille
Thu, 12 Aug '21
Common typo for an exclamation point
Sun, 18 Jul '21
Gastric acid, on the pH scale
Tue, 6 Jul '21
Word before "More Night," "More Try" and "More Chance" in Billboard hits
Wed, 16 Jun '21
Unnamed person
Wed, 2 Jun '21
Binary digit
Wed, 26 May '21
Number aptly found in "loner"
Wed, 12 May '21
Number on a foam finger
Wed, 5 May '21
"Take ___"
Mon, 26 Apr '21
Last number in a countdown
Sun, 25 Apr '21
It's 50/50
Mon, 5 Apr '21
Number of Q tiles in Scrabble
Fri, 26 Mar '21
What a raised index finger may stand for
Wed, 17 Mar '21
With 1-Down, the smallest amount
Wed, 24 Feb '21
Number of seasons played by baseball's Seattle Pilots
Sun, 7 Feb '21
Half and half?