A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

REX

Wed, 21 Sep '22
Mardi Gras king
Mon, 12 Sep '22
"Oedipus ___"
Mon, 5 Sep '22
Dinosaur in "Toy Story"
Thu, 30 Jun '22
Playmate of Fido and Rover
Thu, 5 May '22
King of ancient Rome
Mon, 2 May '22
Tyrannosaurus ___
Sun, 27 Mar '22
Dino friend of Buzz Lightyear
Mon, 21 Feb '22
Tyrannosaurus ___
Tue, 7 Dec '21
"Oedipus ___"
Mon, 26 Apr '21
Former secretary of state Tillerson
Thu, 15 Apr '21
"Regal" pet name
Sun, 14 Feb '21
Latin king
Wed, 27 Jan '21
Servius Tullius, e.g., in ancient Rome