A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

TOE

Sun, 21 Nov '21
Pool tester
Sat, 30 Oct '21
Corn's place
Mon, 4 Oct '21
Little piggy
Wed, 22 Sep '21
Low digit?
Mon, 20 Sep '21
Sticky part of a gecko
Mon, 30 Aug '21
End of a shoe
Wed, 18 Aug '21
"Piggy"
Tue, 17 Aug '21
See 26-Across
Thu, 29 Jul '21
Point of a dancer who's en pointe
Mon, 12 Jul '21
Part of the body that's stubbed
Fri, 2 Jul '21
The point of 9-Down?
Fri, 25 Jun '21
Stub hub?
Mon, 29 Mar '21
What a ballerina twirls on
Sun, 21 Mar '21
___ the line
Thu, 11 Feb '21
Part of Italy where Calabria is found