A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

LIE

Thu, 18 Nov '21
Bit of baloney
Sun, 14 Nov '21
Bit of fiction
Tue, 26 Oct '21
"Tuesday is the hardest crossword of the week," e.g.
Mon, 4 Oct '21
Serve up a whopper
Thu, 2 Sep '21
"I was stuck in traffic," maybe
Sun, 22 Aug '21
Don't believe it!
Sun, 1 Aug '21
"I promise I won't laugh," often
Sat, 5 Jun '21
Palter
Fri, 28 May '21
Golfer's concern
Tue, 18 May '21
Tell a whopper
Sun, 28 Mar '21
Be on the level?
Sun, 21 Mar '21
Create an account?
Fri, 12 Mar '21
Be flat
Wed, 3 Mar '21
A white one might be excused
Fri, 12 Feb '21
"No ___!"