A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

COB

Sun, 3 Mar '24
Male swan
Sun, 25 Feb '24
It's totally corny
Tue, 30 May '23
Corn holder
Sun, 9 Apr '23
Male swan
Sun, 1 Jan '23
Barbecue discard
Mon, 5 Dec '22
Center of an ear of corn
Tue, 25 Oct '22
Inner ear?
Thu, 21 Jul '22
Male swan
Sat, 12 Feb '22
Parent of a cygnet
Mon, 4 Oct '21
Corn on the ___
Sun, 4 Apr '21
Corn core
Sun, 21 Mar '21
Male swan
Tue, 16 Feb '21
Corn throwaway