A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

TSAR

Fri, 16 Sep '22
Bygone Winter Palace resident
Tue, 13 Sep '22
Ruler whose title is derived from the name "Caesar"
Fri, 9 Sep '22
Fyodor the Blessed, e.g.
Tue, 19 Jul '22
Ivan the Terrible, for one
Sun, 17 Jul '22
Old imperial title
Wed, 6 Jul '22
Leader overthrown by a revolution
Sun, 8 May '22
Romanov V.I.P., once
Thu, 31 Mar '22
Title derived from "Caesar"
Sun, 30 Jan '22
Romanov ruler
Tue, 21 Dec '21
Bygone Russian ruler
Mon, 22 Nov '21
Ruler in pre-Communist Russia
Sun, 14 Nov '21
Title that comes from "Caesar"
Thu, 4 Nov '21
The first Fabergé egg was created for one
Tue, 5 Oct '21
Russian despot
Sun, 26 Sep '21
"May God bless and keep the ___ ... far away from us!" ("Fiddler on the Roof" line)
Fri, 17 Sep '21
Imperial title derived from "caesar"
Mon, 19 Jul '21
Old Russian ruler
Sat, 10 Jul '21
Fabergé egg recipient
Fri, 18 Jun '21
Romanov V.I.P.
Thu, 17 Jun '21
Historical lead-in to -evna or -evich
Wed, 19 May '21
Boris Godunov, for one
Sat, 6 Mar '21
Bolshevik's foe
Sun, 31 Jan '21
Bygone royalty
Mon, 11 Jan '21
Old Russian ruler