A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

OLD

Fri, 20 May '22
Up there, you might say
Sun, 1 May '22
No longer funny
Mon, 25 Apr '22
Grayed
Wed, 13 Apr '22
Stale
Tue, 1 Mar '22
*___ Square (translation of "Vieux Carré")
Mon, 8 Nov '21
___ Man Winter
Sat, 16 Oct '21
Discontinued
Wed, 5 May '21
Antique
Wed, 17 Mar '21
Like Mother Hubbard and King Cole
Wed, 20 Jan '21
Bygone