A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

LEO

Fri, 5 Apr '24
First name in Russian literature
Thu, 4 Apr '24
Baseball Hall-of-Famer Durocher
Fri, 22 Mar '24
Shortest of a group of 12
Wed, 6 Mar '24
Certain fire sign
Mon, 8 Jan '24
Sign before Virgo
Sun, 24 Dec '23
Uncle ___ ("Seinfeld" character)
Mon, 4 Dec '23
Summer zodiac sign
Wed, 22 Nov '23
Constellation whose mane and shoulders are known as "the Sickle"
Mon, 28 Aug '23
One of three fire signs, with Aries and Sagittarius
Thu, 10 Aug '23
Anyone born in late July or early August
Wed, 8 Feb '23
One of the fire signs
Mon, 5 Dec '22
Only three-letter zodiac sign
Sat, 15 Oct '22
"Titanic" co-star, familiarly
Sun, 9 Oct '22
Soccer star Messi, familiarly
Thu, 19 May '22
Constellation next to Ursa Major
Sun, 8 May '22
Certain summer baby
Sun, 20 Mar '22
Soccer star Messi, to fans
Sun, 13 Feb '22
Fifth sign
Sun, 31 Oct '21
One of the fire signs
Fri, 7 May '21
Constellation that Regulus is part of
Mon, 15 Mar '21
Zodiac sign before Virgo
Sat, 6 Feb '21
First name in Russian literature